Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Report bugs and unexpected behavior here.
JaZZ
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:56 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by JaZZ » Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:44 pm

Hello community

First I want to express how impressed I am by the possibilities offered by the Player, especially the diversity of the EQ settings – since equalizing is an important aspect of my (headphone-)listening habit, as I want to trim all my headphones and IEMs to a perceivedly flat amplitude response. FiiO Music, the standard app of my (also rather new) FiiO M11 Pro, has just one customisable User EQ that can't be stored (!), so the Neutron player was a must.

While configuring some 10-band parametric EQs, right after selecting the «30-Band Graphic EQ», the graphic display of the resulting curve changed to something like below...

Neutron-Player-EQ.jpg
Neutron-Player-EQ.jpg (192.63 KiB) Viewed 658 times
...and since has remained so for all EQ presets. The starting frequency varies between 20 and 219 Hz or the like, though. But the first colum always contains a frequency band reaching up to 9600 Hz, while the other nine expand from there to 96 kHz. This characteristic is also apparent in the animated oscillograph with a concentration at the left border with activated EQ, whereas without EQ it expands to the right side.

After a few considerations and experiments I have no idea left what could have caused this flaw. Well, under the menue point «Audio Hardware» there's an entry called «Frequency», and it displays as 96,000 Hz. However, among the eight sampling-rate numbers none can be selected, so I wonder what this menue point serves for and what meaning and effect the indicated 96,000 Hz have. Does anybody have an explanation?

I haven't found a way to restore the factory settings – as a measure of last resort.

BTW, it looks as if all EQ presets are in fact parametric, there's no true «graphic EQ» – which is confirmed by the respective title during editing.

So I would be very glad for any help.

Marcel
Last edited by JaZZ on Wed Apr 22, 2020 4:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

blaubär
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by blaubär » Wed Apr 22, 2020 3:50 pm

JaZZ wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:44 pm
[If I only knew how to prevent the attachment from appearing as a second picture...]
By editing the post and activating "Place Inline".

place-inline.PNG
place-inline.PNG (8.25 KiB) Viewed 648 times

blaubär
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by blaubär » Wed Apr 22, 2020 3:59 pm

JaZZ wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:44 pm
While configuring some 10-band parametric EQs, right after selecting the «30-Band Graphic EQ», the graphic display of the resulting curve changed to something like below...
[...]
...and since has remained so for all EQ presets. The starting frequency varies between 20 and 219 Hz or the like, though. But the first colum always contains a frequency band reaching up to 9600 Hz, while the other nine expand from there to 96 kHz. This characteristic is also apparent in the animated oscillograph with a concentration at the left border with activated EQ, whereas without EQ it expands to the right side.

After a few considerations and experiments I have no idea left what could have caused this flaw. Well, under the menue point «Audio Hardware» there's an entry called «Frequency», and it displays as 96,000 Hz. However, among the eight sampling-rate numbers none can be selected, so I wonder what this menue point serves for and what meaning and effect the indicated 96,000 Hz have. Does anybody have an explanation?
You can switch the spectrum analyzer display between linear and logarithmic, either via Settings > User Interface > Spectrum Analyzer > Linear Scale or by tapping on the upper right corner in the extended spectrum analyzer. Perhaps you involuntarily did that and that's the effect you're seeing.

lin-log.PNG
lin-log.PNG (1.24 KiB) Viewed 645 times

As to the frequencies of the display : the lower boundary can be set in the eq settings > Bode Plot

bode-plot.PNG
bode-plot.PNG (6.16 KiB) Viewed 645 times
The upper limit is half the output sampling rate, which is the maximum frequency that can possibly be produced, given this sampling rate.

blaubär
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by blaubär » Wed Apr 22, 2020 4:06 pm

JaZZ wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:44 pm
BTW, it looks as if all EQ presets are in fact parametric, there's no true «graphic EQ» – which is confirmed by the respective title during editing.
Well, the "graphic equalizer" is just one with only sliders for volume and nothing else. Meaning the total frequency interval from 20 Hz - 20 kHz is evenly divided into band of ( logarithmically ! ) equal size. So it is just the name. See also example for 4- and 5-band-eq . Well, and perhaps the usage, as you can see and change the sliders directly on the eq screen. An example for a non-graphic eq that I use to correct one of my headphones would be here example for Koss Porta Pro

JaZZ
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:56 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by JaZZ » Wed Apr 22, 2020 4:40 pm

Thank you very much, blaubär!

Your instructions have solved my problem. :)

There's still some questions left. E.g.: What's the function of the two arrows on the right side above the frequency-response graph? Klicking on them just moves the graph up and down by not much more than 1 mm, which doesn't make much sense.

blaubär
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by blaubär » Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:46 pm

JaZZ wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 4:40 pm
There's still some questions left. E.g.: What's the function of the two arrows on the right side above the frequency-response graph? Klicking on them just moves the graph up and down by not much more than 1 mm, which doesn't make much sense.
That's a feature that's rarely used, because it mostly cannot be applied. Afaik only with the compressor settings. Try it out, invoke the compressor settings, and scroll up and down. With the graph a mm lower it ( the graph ) also scrolls ( and then isn't visible all the time of course ), in the other case it stays above and only the rest scrolls.

compressor.PNG
compressor.PNG (15.34 KiB) Viewed 633 times

JaZZ
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:56 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by JaZZ » Wed Apr 22, 2020 7:59 pm

It's good to know such a knowledgeable and helpful poster here. :!:

JaZZ
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:56 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by JaZZ » Mon May 04, 2020 3:35 pm

Some new issue has shown up.

Since I don't have a WLAN access at home, my dealer has installed the Neutron Player for me. Apparently he has caught the (free) demo version, which has expired after five days. Today, after a new installation of the definitive app, I believed to have achieved my aim, but I was wrong: the same message after five minutes of use:
Die Testphase ist abgelaufen.

Bitte kaufen Sie Neutron, wenn Sie die App weiter nutzen möchten.

Wenn Sie Neutron bereits erworben oder die Demoversion weniger als 5 Tage genutzt haben, vergewissern Sie sich, ob die Internet-Verbindung aktiv und das Benutzerkonto in den System-Einstellungen registriert ist. Versuchen Sie den Cache der App zu leeren und das Gerät erneut zu starten. Starten Sie Neutron und halten Sie die Internet-Verbindung ca. 20 Minuten aufrecht.

Sollte das Problem weiterhin bestehen, kontaktieren Sie bitte den Entwickler.
In other words: Either the installation of the app has failed again, or I have to take care for an internet connection (which I obviously can't establish) – maybe just once right after installation for at least 20 minutes (?)! I don't understand this precondition. In the worst case, could it mean that without a WLAN connection I can't use the Neutron Player?

blaubär
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by blaubär » Mon May 04, 2020 4:18 pm

It says "internet" not "WLAN", so any stable internet connection should do.

Where did you buy ? In the Google Play Store ? Then have a look at Q: I purchased Neutron in Google Play but still getting Trial Expires message? . If the procedure described there doesn't help then contact neutronmp@gmail.com .

JaZZ
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:56 pm
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Neutron Player and Forum Newbie with Problems

Post by JaZZ » Mon May 04, 2020 4:51 pm

How can I get an internet connection with the FiiO M11 Pro without WLAN?

My dealer has installed the Neutron Player via Google Play on the FiiO player, on his own account and with his own password, so I can't do anything from my place. I haven't looked over his shoulder during his installation attampt, so don't know if he's followed the necessary proceedings.

Does your answer implicate that a (constant!) internet connection is necessary for using the Neutron player on my FiiO DAP, or just during the mentioned 20 minutes right after installation? In the former case the Neutron app would be useless for me in any event.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests