Subsonic music server connection

Support questions for Neutron Player only.
patrickhenrypdx

Subsonic music server connection

Post by patrickhenrypdx » Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:55 pm

Hi All, I've been using the Subsonic music server for a few years and am quite happy with it, but I'm looking for a phone app (Android) that will allow me to force a mono mode (so I can listen in just one ear) - a feature that Subsonic's phone app doesn't have. Neutron appears to allow the forced mono mode, but I haven't seen any way to connect Neutron to Subsonic.

Does anyone know of a way to connect Neutron to Subsonic?

If not, is there a way to connect Neutron to my PC (without Subonic) over the web? I see that Neutron has FTP functionality but I'm not sure if I have what's need on the PC to support FTP of my music files (PC is running Win10 Pro).

Suggestions appreciated for getting me connected to my music library and listening in just one ear. TIA!

blaubär

Re: Subsonic music server connection

Post by blaubär » Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:19 am

Find out the protocols that you can use with the server and configure it accordingly. From what I've read on their homepage subsonic e.g. DLNA seems to be supported . Then add a source in Neutron

source-selection.PNG
source-selection.PNG (35.71 KiB) Viewed 4123 times

patrickhenrypdx

Post by patrickhenrypdx » Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:08 pm

blaubär wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 6:19 am
Find out the protocols that you can use with the server and configure it accordingly. From what I've read on their homepage subsonic e.g. DLNA seems to be supported . Then add a source in Neutron
blaubär, thank you very much for that pointer. That has gotten me a lot closer to where I want to be. I clicked the settings box to Enable DLNA server
("Use this option to turn on the DLNA/UPnP Media Server in Subsonic") on the Win10 machine running Subsonic, and now I can see my Subsonic music directory *name* in Neutron on my Pixel3 (the directory is named "SubsonicMusic").