Volume with hidizs sonata

Report bugs and unexpected behavior here.
Post Reply
eprst
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 3:08 pm

Volume with hidizs sonata

Post by eprst » Sat May 25, 2019 3:21 pm

Hi
I'm using hidizs sonata DAC and it works well but volume level is too high.

Code: Select all

settings
  audio hardware
    hardware gain = on
    generic driver
      hi-res codec = on
    direct usb access = on
      digital = on
      volume control = on
        linear scale = on  -- allows more smooth volume control
        replace device volume = on
I'm getting more or less normal volume with gain = 0, and sometimes even that is too much with my very sensitive IEMs and I have to drop it with preamp.
Any workaround? 50Ω resistor? =)

NeutronMP 2.09.5-ARM64
Sonata HD DAC with "D" firmware
1+3t

blaubär
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Volume with hidizs sonata

Post by blaubär » Sat May 25, 2019 6:51 pm

How did you generate the configuration printout ?

eprst
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 3:08 pm

Re: Volume with hidizs sonata

Post by eprst » Sat May 25, 2019 8:37 pm

typed it manually

eprst
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 3:08 pm

Re: Volume with hidizs sonata

Post by eprst » Sat May 25, 2019 9:21 pm

Having the same issue with usb audio player pro, so preamp is probably the only way.

blaubär
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Volume with hidizs sonata

Post by blaubär » Thu May 30, 2019 6:11 pm

eprst wrote:
Sat May 25, 2019 9:21 pm
Having the same issue with usb audio player pro, so preamp is probably the only way.
If you disable "Hardware Gain" in "Audio Hardware", then the right slider on the EQ-Screen, which normally displays
the smartphone volume, changes and becomes sort of a second preamp slider
( my best guess is that the preamp comes before the equalizer, this special slider here after ).
See the recent discussion in

viewtopic.php?f=3&p=12607#p12607

You could perhaps use that. If you try : does it work for you ?

blaubär
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Volume with hidizs sonata

Post by blaubär » Sat May 23, 2020 7:24 am

Could you in the meantime solve the problem ?
What hidizs sonata do you have ? I found one with DAC from realtek and one with DAC from cirrus logic.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest