[TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Report bugs and unexpected behavior here.

[TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby dmitrykos » Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:39 pm

If you own a DAP which has declared support of Hi-Res Audio then you need to have Audio Hardware -> Generic Driver option be switched on.

iBasso:

DX200 has 64-bit ARM CPU so that I advise to activate 64-bit Mode in top-level settings so that output will be done in 32-bits (32-bit processing mode will output in 24 bits) without any substantial load on CPU. For 32-bit (and less bits) it will be guaranteed bit-perfect mode.

Fiio:

Fiio devices (X5, X7) receive 32-bit audio samples since 1.97.0 version.

Audio Hardware -> Bits field will show either (out: 24), (out: 8.24) for 24-bit output, (out: 32) for 32-bit output.

If you wish hardware frequency to be matching the music file's frequency then you need to activate Audio Hardware -> Follow Source Frequency, or otherwise for an upsampling mode just simply set to the max supported frequency in Audio Hardware -> Frequency section.
dmitrykos
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1778
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 6:15 pm

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby rudra.v » Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:54 pm

Thanks, your settings indications work with my X7 mk1 firmware 3.3.2.

Your comment about X7 firmware not able to go beyond 24-bit is based on the original android 4 firmware or the latest android 5.1.1 ?
rudra.v
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:32 pm

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby dmitrykos » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:08 pm

> based on the original android 4 firmware or the latest android 5.1.1 ?

The output via JNI was max with a 24-bit format (the only known supported format). But since 1.97.0 Fiio devices receive 32-bit audio samples! I will correct the description.
dmitrykos
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1778
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 6:15 pm

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby BLMusic » Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:47 am

I had ibasso DX200 dap and the Generic driver was switch on nut still not able to play DSD 256 files. Please advise me what should I do to troubleshoot? Thanking you in advance.
BLMusic
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:13 am

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby sarahah » Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:51 am

What about latest android 7?
___________________________
Dealership Management System Software | Pharma Billing Software
sarahah
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:04 am

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby chowmanfu » Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:02 am

Which APK and what settings for TheBit OPUS#2?

I will do jumping jacks if I can use Neutron on my OPUS#2.
chowmanfu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:56 am

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby kumporn kaewkor » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:29 am

dmitrykos wrote:If you own a DAP which has declared support of Hi-Res Audio then you need to have Audio Hardware -> Generic Driver option be switched on.

iBasso:

DX200 has 64-bit ARM CPU so that I advise to activate 64-bit Mode in top-level settings so that output will be done in 32-bits (32-bit processing mode will output in 24 bits) without any substantial load on CPU. For 32-bit (and less bits) it will be guaranteed bit-perfect mode.

Fiio:

Fiio devices (X5, X7) receive 32-bit audio samples since 1.97.0 version.

Audio Hardware -> Bits field will show either (out: 24), (out: 8.24) for 24-bit output, (out: 32) for 32-bit output.

If you wish hardware frequency to be matching the music file's frequency then you need to activate Audio Hardware -> Follow Source Frequency, or otherwise for an upsampling mode just simply set to the max supported frequency in Audio Hardware -> Frequency section.
kumporn kaewkor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:06 am

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby chowmanfu » Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:46 am

These settings don't work for my Opus#2. The sound is awful. I asked for help because two brand-specific solutions have been presented, already. I thought there might be a specific solution for the TheBit products.
chowmanfu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:56 am

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby chowmanfu » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:16 am

Installing Neutron makes my Opus#2 sound entirely bad. The Neutron settings affect the stock settings--switching to stock player sounds awful. If you use the physical buttons in Neutron, they work--but then, the buttons don't work in stock player.

Neutron must be uninstalled and Opus#2 shut down.
After that sound is great again.
chowmanfu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:56 am

Re: [TIP] Hi-Res Audio for dedicated DAPs

Postby chowmanfu » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:25 am

I only want Neutron because of its file reading. I use WAV files. WAV files don't carry tags.

If I want tags to work, I can't use WAV.

FLAC doesn't sound like WAV.


I can convert WAV to FLAC with no compression, yes. But when my OPUS#2 can play WAV beautifully, why compress?

It can read a name! The program isn't there yet, though!
chowmanfu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:56 am

Next

Return to Support



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests